Casa Capelli

John and I love house guests. So much so, I sometimes think we should get into the tourism department when we return to the U.S. and own a guest house just so we can meet new people! We have had a few volunteers stay with us since we moved into our apartment, but we recently had 3 people who wanted to come and spend a few days hiking.

IMG_00019

I love watching the “old soviet” trains go by behind our house every day but this time it was different to see it passing outside our window knowing it was carrying 3 friends. I did however wonder how we all would fit into our tiny apartment.

I am happy to report we all did just fine, thanks to the fact John and I brought our camping mattresses and sleeping bags, we all were able to fit comfortably. We also had enough room to have a big spaghetti dinner and play games.

I admired everyone who awoke early every morning to hike Mt. Hoverla and Mt. Homiak, I chose to opt-out this time beings I had already  hiked these two mountains and had other things to do, or should I just say I am getting “plum tuckered out” on hiking. But they had a fantastic time and were a little disappointed they did not have more time to do additional hiking.

As for me I was busy going with our team to evaluate everything we need to do for our “Save Huk Waterfall” project. I am happy to announce the project is officially underway, our grant has been approved and we now have the funds to start work.

I have also been baking, falling in love with animals, doing many fun activities along with enjoying every moment of summer and all it has to offer before it comes to an end.

And John? He has started a photography workshop this summer that people love and when he’s not hiking he’s trying to remember not to leave for work with his “house slippers” on!

 

This page reflects my own thoughts and opinions and in no way reflects the views or opinions of the U.S. Peace Corps.

Leave a comment