The Start

For the first three days in Chernihiv we stayed at a hotel to get started on paperwork, language and were given a good idea of what life was going to be like. Then our host families came in taxi cabs and whisked us away into an unknown life. I am staying with my host Mama Larisa. She is a single middle aged women that has hosted six volunteers in the past and has a good idea of what’s going on. This is really good because I don’t exactly know what’s going on! Today Mama Larisa walked me to school which is only 10 minuets away, but I’m sure it will feel like 45 minuets away when winter arrives. I think it will be soon because Mama Larisa bundled me up this morning in my warm coat and scarf. I got to see John because thankfully he is in my language group. He seems to like his host Mama and Tato (father) and we both agreed we think google translator is going to be our best friend. At school we went on our first field trip (to the market) and experienced the foods of Ukraine and the money. We then went back to school and filled our heads with the language that my teacher promised me will make sense…eventually! I failed my first test today, I had to call my Mama Larisa to tell her what time to pick me up from school, after I told her she asked to speak to my teacher to translate. John on the other hand had no problems and his Tato understood. Thank goodness I will have him when we get out on our own!!

When Mama Larisa picked me up she made sure I was once again was bundled up and she helped me with a large bag of books my teacher Luda had given me and pointed out all the land marks because tomorrow I will have to put my big girl pants on and walk my self to school. We walked in an awkward silence but when arrived home we both quickly changed into comfortable clothes that reminded me how much we are alike!

After dinner I attempted to help Mama Larisa with dishes but I’m not positive that I actually was a help to her and wonder if I will be invited to do the dishes again. I have also noticed that I need to be more diligent about turning lights off because she is constantly turning them off behind me and I must be driving her crazy! I have to remember this is only day one and I’m sure that we will get the hang of each other soon enough! I feel extremely lucky to have been placed in the city and have luxury’s like running water and Wi Fi.  I know that many of my Peace Corps friends probably don’t have those simple things.

Peace Corps told us that on our first day we will probably be asking ourselves “what did I just sign up for?”and I have to admit, that question did pop into my head on more than one occasion today. But something tells me with the help of Mama Larisa and google translator I will make it!

This page reflects my own personal experiences, thoughts and opinions. It does NOT reflect the views of Peace Corps or the American Government or society as a whole.

One thought on “The Start

  1. Denise, wonderful! I trust things will all come together. Peace Corps aside, undertaking a Blog like this is an immense job! Stay safe!

    Love, Ray

    Like

Leave a comment